Life at a funeral home – – Been SO busy!


I haven’t had time to write because we have been so freaking busy! This week not so bad, but last week was hell!

I am still enjoying working at the new place, seems as though I am fitting right in and getting to know the place better. Happy that I do not have to do ‘everything’ myself if a Director just doesn’t “feel” like showing up!

Since we had so many visitations and funerals last week, I couldn’t help notice that food was of course a BIG issue with every family! go figure… There is only one lounge. Pretty much just like anyother funeral home, there is just one lounge. We would hope that being ‘adults’ people could share the lounge and well…act like adults. Apparently not. So many families complained that the other family was ‘overtaking’ the lounge. I am not even sure it this was true or not since I was not really in the lounge to even see, but I do know that at any given point during any of the visitations we had there were alot of people in the funeral home….and of course where do all the people end up at…..the lounge! We had set up another table so that each family could have their own table for their food. Well, one family complained that one table wasn’t enough. Really?!? One family brought in coolers filled with soda pop, water, juice boxes ( for those little kids who I just love so much running around and yelling!) even though we have 2 refrigerators, that they also used! One family had chicken dinners delivered. One had pizza, subs, salads, etc… delivered. One family brought in any kind of cookie and cake and pastry you could think of. On top of the veggie trays, lunch meat and cheese trays that they ALL brought in. And of course they take their food when they leave but they don’t bother to tidy up before they leave. When you have kids at the funeral home all day (which you should NOT do in the first place!) they make a mess because they are left unattended. Whoever thought giving these kids markers and paper was a good idea, it wasn’t because they got marker all over the table! They also like to spill/drop stuff and leave it there and then other people walk on it, etc… I was also thinking that ALL the money that these families spent on these funerals, the caskets, flowers, use of the funeral home, and they are all in the lounge. No one in the chapel, except for a few people, and I mean literally a few people. It’s a waste of money and how are you paying your last respects to the deceased if you are spending the whole time in the lounge? If there wasn’t ALL that food in there then no one would want to go into the lounge in the first place. Maybe to get a cup of coffee or tea, but not to sit around. Then on the day of the funeral after the service before we close the casket they carry on and don’t want us to close the casket because they will never see their loved one again. Well, ya had a day or two to sit there with them, that was the reason for the funeral….no? And since you pretty much sat in the lounge, NOW you want to have more time? I just feel that if you are going to spend thousands of dollars on a funeral then why are you not in the room?!?

On another note…when a Death Certificate needs to be corrected AFTER the funeral home files it, if it has already been sent to the State, then it will be A LONG time before we get it back! So, MAKE sure that you have ALL the CORRECT information for the funeral home! And if for some reason you gave us the wrong info and it was sent to the State to be corrected it is NOT our fault it is taking so long! Out of our hands! Out of our control! NOTHING we can do! If your mother/father was married to your mother/father but then one of them passed away, BUT they remarried later on but then divorced….they are NOT considered widowed! They are DIVORCED! Just because it was not YOUR mother/father who they divorced still doesn not mean that they weren’t divorced! It will screw up social security benefits and any other alimony, insurance, etc…OK?!?

Well, I will try to write more sooner next time.

5 Responses to “Life at a funeral home – – Been SO busy!”

  1. Hi there Bizz, great to hear you are doing fine at your new place. I too have a new job, in a shop. Not what I wanted to do really but there is a problem with me applying to a funeral home… Because I only recently decided working in the bizz would be a great career move and being a rock chick, I dyed a large streak…(try not to laugh) BRIGHT PURPLE!! No matter how much I try it will not completely go so now I have baby pink. I just can’t put any more bleach on it or it will fall out. Total fail.

    As soon as it’s gone, I can apply. You know as soon as I was offered my new job, there was a vacancy at a local funeral home. Typical. Though it was only as and when needed hours. My new job is o.k for now but it’s not challenging or exciting as I feel working in the bizz would be.

    People still being their usual selves I see. DICKS! They must have meetings on how absolutely ignorant and stupid they can be…Dicks Anonymous maybe? Now I have a whole new set of dicks to contend with and the shop is on a university campus so students galore. Some are lovely but how some even get out the door with their laces tied amazes me, never mind studying a bloody degree!!

    Have you needed the scanner idea yet? Hehehe. Also you could staple death certs to the families’ face when they are ready so they might not get details wrong next time they have to do something.

    Thought of the day :- if sarcasm burnt calories, I’d be skinny as fuck by now.

    Hope to hear from you soon and take care. 🙂

  2. sazhill69 Says:

    Hi there Bizz, great to hear you are doing fine at your new place. I too have a new job, in a shop. Not what I wanted to do really but there is a problem with me applying to a funeral home… Because I only recently decided working in the bizz would be a great career move and being a rock chick, I dyed a large streak…(try not to laugh) BRIGHT PURPLE!! No matter how much I try it will not completely go so now I have baby pink. I just can’t put any more bleach on it or it will fall out. Total fail.

    As soon as it’s gone, I can apply. You know as soon as I was offered my new job, there was a vacancy at a local funeral home. Typical. Though it was only as and when needed hours. My new job is o.k for now but it’s not challenging or exciting as I feel working in the bizz would be.

    People still being their usual selves I see. DICKS! They must have meetings on how absolutely ignorant and stupid they can be…Dicks Anonymous maybe? Now I have a whole new set of dicks to contend with and the shop is on a university campus so students galore. Some are lovely but how some even get out the door with their laces tied amazes me, never mind studying a bloody degree!!

    Have you needed the scanner idea yet? Hehehe. Also you could staple death certs to the families’ face when they are ready so they might not get details wrong next time they have to do something.

    Thought of the day :- if sarcasm burnt calories, I’d be skinny as fuck by now.

    Hope to hear from you soon and take care.

    • thefuneralbizz Says:

      Hey there! Thanks! LOVE the ‘thought of the day’….I would wither away to nothing!! I hope that streak of hair grows out soon for you! anyother time it would have grown out by now!
      At least you have a job for the time being…even if it sucks. I would still go ahead and apply and even take interviews…you never know! And also letting them know that you are working on growing out your pink streak of hair, they may be willing to overlook it for the time being. Especially if you find a funeral home that has a younger owner/manager…. You sure will be challenged when you start working at a funeral home, thats for sure! My comment to my husband or family/friends after a long day or even to my boss and other employees when i am just totally exhausted is “my brain hurts” and or “i don’t wanna think anymore”! And yes, people are still the same! I know that making funeral arrangements for someone you have lost is a big deal to them (and will be to me again in the future, i am sure), but how long does it really take to pick out some prayer cards and a prayer/verse/poem for them? We have a book with all the prayer cards/memorial folders and then we have in that same book, different prayers/verses/poems. It isn’t like the book is full of hundreds to choose from, there are maybe 13 different prayer cards/folders and 20 prayers/verses/poems. Even if the family wants a prayer or poem or just some saying they want on the cards, we can always do that as well….but the family we had recently…spent 2 days trying to decide which ones they wanted! Then the other family wanted to stop in a day or two prior to their funeral to ‘look over’ the cards we did for them, just to ‘make sure’ they were correct!! …..ugh!
      Speaking of college kids….I have to totally agree with you…how do they function out in the world. I am sure not ALL of them are like that…but pretty much most of them are. My niece is in college and I just can’t imagine her working….ANYWHERE!
      I so wish I could use the scanner idea! I haven’t had anyone ask me lately about their loved one looking “dead”…but I am sure next time someone does ask me that I will be thinking of that idea!
      Good luck with the job search!

  3. Admin Asst Says:

    Congrats!! So glad the new job is working well for you. I’m really happy for you.

    As for food at, during or after services, where I work it is against the law to have food in a funeral home. That solves a lot of food issues in our state. We usually recommend a local place to have their receptions at. But that brings on some other problems, that being if the family isn’t happy with the service at the eatery, they complain to us. We can’t do anything about it except no longer recommend the place. We usually tell them that but the families feel we should do something about it.

    Ah yes, dc corrections. Where I live it’s pretty easy to take care of, especially when you have a good relationship with vital records. However we do trade work for neighboring states and they are not so easy. We recently had a family whose family member died in another state but they had services at our funeral home. Last week, one of the family members called to say that the address they gave us for the deceased was wrong. The family was very nice and I called the funeral home who did the paperwork. Not only would it be a $75 fee for the correction (to the city where the deceased died), but they would have to reorder the certs (they won’t exchange them) plus the city would charge the family an additional filing fee. In the end it would have cost the family about $200 after all the fees and the replacement certs. Plus it would have taken weeks, even a month or more to have the correction done. The family decided to just let things go and not have the change made. The family was very nice about the whole thing and I wished there was more we could have done for them.

    • thefuneralbizz Says:

      Thank you!!
      Well, technically it is, to put another way, ‘not legal’ to serve food in a funeral home here either. Since we are a funeral home and do not carry a food license. But, there are ‘exceptions’ made or maybe you want to call it ‘turn the other way’ since ‘we’ the funeral home are not actually cooking the food or serving the food. Families are NOT allowed to bring in anything that requires cooking, no crock pots to be plugged in, etc.. Although, I have had several families in the past ask if they could do so. I have had families just bring in their crock pots with out asking as well. And of course, when we tell them no, they cannot do that, they get pissed. oh well! That is why when people call and ask or if the family asks us about food in the lounge, we ALWAYS tell them….you may bring in SNACKS, some sandwiches, donuts, pastries, things like that. But yet, they bring in all of that plus a whole slew of other things and then other family members/friends/realitves will have meat and cheese trays delivered, pastry baskets, cookies, cakes, whole meals! I know I have mentioned this before, but I am amazed at how many families ask us if they can use our lounge for their luncheon after their funeral services! OR even better yet, those who just assume they can use the lounge for their luncheon! I have had a number of families who have just assumed that is what they would do and when they ask us about where to set their stuff up and where are all the tables and chairs, we are like…”what are you talking about?” But anyway…..
      Usually if the D/C has not been sent to the state and it is still at the city clerks office, we don’t have an issue getting them corrected if need be. Most of the city/county clerks offices hold on to all of the D/C’s until the end of the month and then send a whole batch to the state. So, if someone catches the error in time, then we can just exchange them and correct them. But, once it hits the state….it takes f o r e v e r!

Leave a Reply

