Update on New Job


Haven’t had much time to write. But the new job is going great, so far. Been busy with visitations and funerals and of course learning how everything is done at a new place. The basic stuff is pretty much the same, the computer programs are different, but not difficult to understand. I already feel more “important”, that’s the only word I can think of to explain it. I feel as if I have a purpose there and that the business/boss/other employees depend on me for the things “I” do…! I do and will have more responsiblity than I had at the other place. I am responsible for all the billing. All the contracts. Other than that, I will still and have already be doing arrangements if needed and giving pricing, walking families in if need be (which I was assured that unless we are SWAMPED and the Director who did the arrangement cannot possibly be there to walk in family in, then I would do it).  Also, that I am only one person and if I have a family that has walked in (which just to remind everyone is a NO NO!) than it is really up to me if I want to actually do the arrangement. I can call the Director and let him know that there is a walk in (don’t walk in!!!) and if I feel comfortable to do it if he is going to be a while, than to go ahead, if he is only going to be a few minutes, I can either start with the family or just let them know they have to wait. If they don’t want to wait than…they can make an appt. I will be alone alot because it is just usually the two of us and if he has a funeral, well, he is gone. I prefer to alone anyway, as long as it is not too busy. I seem to work better with no one around. There is still the printing and typing and computer work that needs to be done as well, but if for some reason I do not have time than everyone else (there are only a few of us that work there, and I am the only full-time day person) including the boss himself will actually do the work that needs to be done! I have actually witnessed him doing that very work I speak of the other day! I was amazed. It was like watching a dog walk on its hind legs! I was impressed! A boss/owner who actually works (I am only comparing this to my last job where most of the bosses did as little as possible)! I’m sure there are things that will irritate me and piss me off. But, I’m pretty sure that happens in every work place. You spend pretty much everyday with other people and you may not like everything they do or say. But that’s part of life. I can’t stand to be around my mother in law for more than, oh, say an hour….so I am use to it. Even though I have more to do I do not feel so overwhelmed and expected to do my job as well as everyone elses. I have found already that I do need to check over things regardless if I did something or if someone else has done it, for example, we have signs next to the chapel doors on the wall when someone is instate. Well, I am not the one who usually does those signs. Most of the time it is the Greeter who will do them. People/Families are particular in how the deceased’s name should appear on the printing and any signs. So on our files on the front next to their names we will write in parenthesis how their names should be on all the printing and any signs. Well, sometimes this is done incorrectly or a spelling error will occur. So, when my boss says that we are all here to watch each others backs, this is what he means, if you see something that is misspelled or just outright worng….fix it. He will let you know that it was wrong, but he isn’t an asshole about it. 

But wanted to say that at my old job, the last couple of days that I had to work, I had a visitation and funeral. This young man we had was only 16 years old, who took his own life, very sad.  He was being cremated so the family chose to a less expensive casket, which is the one typically used for cremation. Now, of course, I do not want to offend anyone, so hoe no one takes offense. The family was white, however, most of our families are black. I would say 75% of them. So anyway…this family is at the funeral home and have one day of viewing. Later in the afternoon, I received a phone call from a man who was asking about pricing on caskets. This gentleman happened to be african american. He  was asking if we had a white casket. I replied, yes we do. He asked if we had an all black casket. I replied, yes we do. He then asked if we had any at the funeral home. I replied yes, we do. Well, then he asked me if we had anyone who was being laid out that day. I replied, yes we do and that he was more than welcome to come by and take a look or come another day. Well, I am not sure if I misunderstood him or not….but he did stop by, only I was unaware that he was there. Usually I am in the office and do not see every person that comes in to the funeral home for visitation. If someone happens to come to the funeral home during a visitation who is there for another reason, they will come to the office door. Well, this man did not come to the office door he went into the chapel where the family was… to look at the casket the deceased was in! I think what he meant when he asked if we had anyone there right now, he meant if we had someone who was being laid out in one of those caskets he was asking about! Well, the only reason I found out he was there, is that some of the family members of the young man who was there came to my office and said that there was a black man in the chapel ‘peering’ into the casket and they have no idea who he is. So….I am thinking “oh great…here we go”! I get up and start walking to the chapel when the man comes walking out. Well….he starts bitching that he doesn’t like that casket and it is not black or white that it is grey and “these people” are nothing but a bunch of racist white people who was giving him dirty looks and making racist comments. Well, then the family who was there started saying that he is the one who was making the racist comments about “white people’s funeral”…. I really didn’t have to say much to the man, since he kept walking past me and out the door! The family started asking me why he came in there and what was he doing? Like it was my fault and somehow I sent him in to “peer” into the casket. I just told them, I am sorry I have no idea who he was….they kept bitching about disrespectful it was, etc…. I mean really, what else could I say! ? !  I just apologized again and walked away. But that was it….just wanted to share.

I’ll be back soon with some more stories or some “tips of the day”

2 Responses to “Update on New Job”

  1. Speaking of mother-in-laws, found this joke you might find amusing, Bizz:

    “A woman was leaving a 7-11 with her morning coffee when she noticed a most unusual funeral procession approaching the nearby cemetery. A long black hearse was followed by a second long black hearse about 50 feet behind. Behind the second hearse was a solitary woman walking a pit bull on a leash. Behind her were 200 women walking single file. The woman couldn’t stand the curiosity. She respectfully approached the woman walking the dog and said, “I am so sorry for your loss, and I know now is a bad time to disturb you, but I’ve never seen a funeral like this. Whose funeral is it?” The woman replied, “Well, that first hearse is for my husband.” “What happened to him?” The woman replied, “My dog attacked and killed him.” She inquired further, “Well, who is in the second hearse?” The woman answered, “My mother-in-law. She was trying to help my husband when the dog turned on her.” A poignant and thoughtful moment of silence passed between the two women. “Can I borrow the dog?” To which the women with the dog replies:
    “Sure. Get in line!”

Leave a Reply

