FINALLY!


Finally a nice family! WOW! I forgot what it was like to be thanked SO much and treated so nice! The family came in and was pleasant to talk with. I am actually glad to be going to work tomorrow while they are there for viewing.

I did have a very nice older gentlemen a few months back. Him and his wife were married for 60 yrs. I felt so bad for him. I hate those kinds of arrangements or funerals! Makes you stop and think what is important in life. Your family, your, wife, your husband, your children, your parents, your brother and sisters, etc…… Make sure you treat your spouse well! They have the power to do as they wish with your body once you pass! I like to threaten (joke) with my husband about that ever now and again. But, it’s true, be nice to one another and overlook the small stuff! Stop and think for a second if they have irritated you in some way, stop and think, is it really that big of a deal to even say anything? Always try to put your self in their shoes! Always try to think if it is really worth fighting over.

But anyway….. He was a very nice man and lonely. He came in to make  payment not too long ago and I sat and talked with him for a while. He just wanted to talk about his wife and that he missed her. Talked about where they lived and what they use to do. He, at one point started to cry, but I think he was holding back. Lately I have been getting more and more depressed while at work. Not so much if nothing is going on but when we get older people in the funeral home and you hear their stories about how long they have been married, I always start to tear up.

Not the gentleman that I was just talking about (he had little money and could only afford a direct cremation) but another man had lost his wife and during the visitation he sat up front right in front/next to the casket so he could spend every last-minute with her that he could. When I would pass by the chapel it just broke my heart. So, cherish every minute you have NOW with your loved ones. About 3 weeks ago, another family, but in this case the husband passed and the wife was in a wheel chair and she at up front next to the casket as well. I did not get to know this family all that well, as I was not at work during their arrangements and I didn’t really get to talk to them on the day of visitation.

BUT……..and you knew there had to be a but, right………….my day was going fine. Had that nice family earlier. Finished up all my work. Had an hour to spare. Then “DING – DONG”.   WHAT? REALLY? who is at the door? YEP! a walk-in! at 5pm. and guess who wasn’t there to help them? YEP, the Director (but he was on his way, luckily he was stopping in to grab some paperwork) EERRRRRRRGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Well, everyone have a nice evening and remember to spend time with the ones you love!

Leave a Reply

